“Vienna...the land of the clavier” W.A. MOZART

Music for Fortepiano and Winds


Mozart Quintet in Eb KV452,

Beethoven Trio (after the Sextet Op.71).


Haydn Sonata No. 62 in Eb Hob. XVI/52,

Beethoven Quintet in Eb Op. 16.


This programme contains two of the finest quintets for fortepiano and winds.  Indeed, Mozart wrote to his father on completion of KV452 stating that he believed it was the best work he had ever composed.  This is juxtaposed wit the Beethoven Quintet, influenced in many ways by the Mozart but written in a grander, even more symphonic scale.