“Immortal Beloved”


Beethoven Trio (after the Septet Op. 20),

Beethoven Sonata for fortepiano and horn  Op. 17.


Beethoven Sonata in F Op. 2, No 1,

Beethoven Quintet in Eb Op. 16..


On the 2nd of May, 1801 Countess Josephine von Deym (nee Brunswick) wrote to her sister describing an afternoon she had spent with Beethoven and fellow musicians.  We know from her correspondence that after a hearty lunch the new Quintet in Eb and Horn Sonata were performed.  This occasion and the ongoing mystery of Beethoven’s “Immortal Beloved” are the inspiration behind this programme.